AIT Gebäude 1

Complex eProcurement, extremely large number of goods and services

The Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT) is Austria's largest non-university research institution and a specialist in the key infrastructure issues of the future. It is therefore obvious to establish resilient and modern structures for procurement as well. The special challenge here: an enormous range of goods and services as well as a high proportion of one-off procurements.

"Around 1,500 people work in the Group - and all of them are allowed to order without any major restrictions," says DI (FH) Markus Zörnig, Deputy Head of Purchasing & Logistics, summing up the initial situation. This is exacerbated by the AIT's extremely broad specialist positioning: With seven centers - Energy, Low-Emission Transport, Digital Safety & Security, Vision Automation & Control, Health & Bioresources, Technology Experience and Innovation Systems & Policy - the company is active in a wide range of specialist areas. In addition, there are three subsidiaries in the areas of light metal research, nuclear engineering and the Seibersdorf laboratory: "This means an endless range of potential procurements - as a buyer, it is simply impossible to have the required product knowledge everywhere.

Atypical purchasing process

Since the products to be ordered often require a very specialized approach, the researchers themselves do the preliminary work: "In this respect, we at AIT deviate from classic purchasing. It is also not uncommon for alternative offers to be obtained directly from the requester, because only he or she can assess the equivalence." Nevertheless, the ambitious eProcurement project was launched in 2016: "My former supervisor, Ms. Schwabach, initiated this goal before she retired." SER Group's DOXiS document storage and workflow system was to serve as the central system. "This is mainly due to the nature of our projects: We have to manage calculations and contracts, obtain approvals for grants, provide access to auditors, etc. That's why DOXiS plays such an important role in the company."

Forschung Mikroskop

Efficient systems integration

In the initial meeting with DIG, all processes were analyzed. "It was important to us to retain the familiar entry via DOXiS. The release processes should also take place in the familiar environment. So, we needed a flexible bridge to SAP, where the order is ultimately generated." Exactly this integration of historically grown structures into an efficient overall solution is a specialty of DIG. "Now our users start in DOXiS, from where they come to the eProcurement platform. Here, the shopping cart is compiled, and the account assignment is made. Then the shopping cart is transferred to DOXiS and the respective approvals are obtained." In fact, that would be a core competency of the DIG platform. "However, since we are used to approvals in DOXiS, we wanted to map this here for procurement as well. The flexibility of DIG has surprised us in a positive way!"

Free text orders and catalogs

"Our challenge lies in the number of potential products. And in the fact that, as a rule, we don't even know them before we order them," says Zörnig, highlighting the special circumstances at AIT. Because of the great variety and the enormous proportion of one-off purchases, catalog management can only be used to a limited extent: "You can't make a catalog article out of a large welding system. That's why we have a high proportion of free-text orders, which are then processed further in purchasing. In addition, however, we are also trying to expand the range of catalog articles." Various catalogs are created, e.g. for occupational safety, standard furniture (with individual specifications for each AIT company), kitchen supplies and much more. "The creation of content catalogs with Excel lists and the upload via DIG-Catman is very easy." In the meantime, 17 catalogs are already available.
Standardization is also to take place in the area of service procurement, and efficiency potential is to be realized through bundling, e.g. in the area of facility management: "Then the user can request services on the basis of negotiated hourly rates. The estimated effort is entered according to the service provider's offer, as is the date for execution." Free-text masks and catalogs play together here: "For many services, we have contractually agreed fixed dates. For example, when calibrating a device. But these can also be changed via the free-text mask - nevertheless, they are catalog orders."

Complex release regulations

"In principle, we prefer OCI connections, and there are no restrictions on the product range depending on the customer. Only certain product groups, such as software and hardware or cell phones, are blocked: "We work together with special suppliers. A corresponding requirement request is then always sent to our 12-person purchasing team." ECLASS provides the necessary information. Which offices are to be involved in concrete terms depends on the product group and the type of procurement. "For capital goods, for example, purchasing is always involved because negotiations are necessary here." The requesters can also obtain comparative offers directly: "In the area of chemicals, for example, we have five suppliers listed." Ordered catalog items are transferred directly through the DIG platform to SAP and a copy of the order is stored in DOXiS - both in PDF and XML format. Follow-up documents such as invoices or order confirmations are also stored here. The supplier communication itself takes place via EDI or by mail and PDF.

Zörnig

High utilization rate

Depending on the product group, eProcurement is used to varying degrees: "With the VWR Healthcare offer, we achieve a usage level of 50%, catalogs such as RS Components are higher. In any case, overall, we want to reach 80% for catalogs and 20% for free-text orders." Of the 1,500 employees, about 700 use the system, "But that's misleading in that many researchers outsource orderings to their office, so they use eProcurement indirectly." The system itself was developed over a period of about a year from kick-off. "The go-live took place in January 2017, and we hardly have any queries from users; everything is self-explanatory. In addition to expanding the catalog offering, we are currently working with DIG on the automated processing of delivery bills, etc. Here, among other things, automated matching is to take place."

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH
2444 Seibersdorf | Austria
T +43 50550-2111 | M +43 664 6207771
markus.zoernig@ait.ac.at | www.ait.ac.at

x
INTERESSE AN EINEM
KOSTENLOSEN WORKSHOP?

AIT Gebäude 1

Wenn Forscher*innen shoppen: Sonderlösung fürs AIT

Das Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT) ist Österreichs größte außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtung und Spezialist für die zentralen Infrastruktur-Themen der Zukunft. So liegt es auf der Hand, auch für die Beschaffung belastbare und moderne Strukturen zu errichten. Die besondere Herausforderung dabei: Eine gewaltige Bandbreite an Waren und Dienstleistungen sowie ein hoher Anteil an Einmalbeschaffungen.

„Im Konzern arbeiten ca. 1.500 Personen – und alle dürfen ohne große Einschränkungen bestellen“, bringt DI (FH) Markus Zörnig, Stellvertretender Leiter für Purchasing & Logistics, die Ausgangssituation auf den Punkt. Verschärft wird das durch die extrem breite fachliche Aufstellung des AIT: Mit sieben Centern Energy, Low-Emission Transport, Digital Safety & Security, Vision Automation & Control, Health & Bioresources, Technology Experience und Innovation Systems & Policy ist man in verschiedensten Fachgebieten aktiv. Dazu kommen noch drei Tochterunternehmen in den Bereichen Leichtmetallforschung, Nuclear Engineering und Seibersdorf Labor hinzu: „Das bringt eine endlose Weite an potenziellen Beschaffungen mit sich – da als Einkäufer*in überall die geforderte Produktkenntnis mitzubringen, ist schlichtweg unmöglich.“

Untypischer Einkaufsprozess

Da die zu bestellenden Produkte oft einen sehr fachspezifischen Zugang erfordern, übernehmen die Forscher*innen selbst die Vorarbeiten: „Insofern weichen wir im AIT vom klassischen Einkauf ab. Auch Alternativangebote werden nicht selten direkt vom Anforderer eingeholt, weil nur diese/r die Gleichwertigkeit beurteilen kann.“ Trotzdem startete man im Jahr 2016 das ehrgeizige Projekt eProcurement: „Meine ehemalige Vorgesetzte, Frau Schwabach, hat dieses Ziel vor ihrer Pensionierung ins Leben gerufen.“ Als zentrales System sollte das Dokumentenablage- und Workflowsystem DOXiS von SER Group fungieren. „Das liegt hauptsächlich an der Art unserer Projekte: Wir müssen Kalkulationen und Verträge steuern, Freigaben für Fördergelder einholen, Wirtschaftsprüfern Zugriffe ermöglichen usw. Deshalb spielt DOXiS so eine wichtige Rolle im Unternehmen."

Forschung Mikroskop

Effiziente Systemintegration

Im Erstgespräch mit der DIG wurden alle Prozesse analysiert. „Uns war es wichtig, den gewohnten Einstieg über das DOXiS beizubehalten. Auch die Freigabeprozesse sollten in der gewohnten Umgebung erfolgen. Wir brauchten also eine flexible Brücke zu SAP, wo die Bestellung letztlich generiert wird.“ Genau diese Integration historisch gewachsener Strukturen in eine effiziente Gesamtlösung ist eine Spezialität der DIG. „Jetzt starten unsere User in DOXiS, von wo sie auf die eProcurement-Plattform kommen. Hier wird der Warenkorb zusammengestellt und die Kontierung vorgenommen. Dann wird der Warenkorb an DOXiS übergeben und die jeweiligen Freigaben eingeholt.“ Tatsächlich wäre das an sich eine Kernkompetenz der DIG-Plattform. „Nachdem wir aber Freigaben in DOXiS gewohnt sind, wollten wir das auch für die Beschaffung hier abbilden. Die Flexibilität der DIG hat uns da jedenfalls positiv überrascht!“

Freitextbestellungen und Kataloge

„Unsere Herausforderung liegt in der Anzahl potenzieller Produkte. Und darin, dass wir diese im Regelfall vor der Bestellung noch gar nicht kennen“, streicht Zörnig die besonderen Umstände bei AIT heraus. Wegen der großen Vielfalt und dem enormen Anteil an Einmalbeschaffungen ist Katalogmanagement nur bedingt einsetzbar: „Aus einer großen Schweißanlage kann man keinen Katalogartikel machen. Deshalb haben wir einen hohen Anteil an Freitextbestellungen, die dann im Einkauf weiterbearbeitet werden. Daneben bemühen wir uns aber auch, das Angebot an Katalogartikeln auszubauen.“ Angelegt werden dabei verschiedene Kataloge z.B. für Arbeitsschutz, Standardmöbel (mit eigenen Vorgaben für jedes AIT-Unternehmen), Küchenbedarf u.v.m. „Die Erstellung von Content-Katalogen mit Excel-Listen und der Upload per DIG-Catman ist denkbar einfach.“ Mittlerweile sind immerhin schon 17 Kataloge verfügbar.
Auch im Bereich der Dienstleistungsbeschaffung sollen Standardisierungen erfolgen und durch Bündelungen z.B. im Bereich Facility Management Effizienzpotenzial realisiert werden: „Dann kann der Bedarfsträger Leistungen auf Basis verhandelter Stundensätze anfordern. Der geschätzte Aufwand wird je nach Angebot des Dienstleisters eingetragen, ebenso der Termin für die Durchführung.“ Dabei spielen Freitextmasken und Kataloge zusammen: „Bei vielen Leistungen gibt es bei uns vertraglich vereinbarte Fixtermine. Etwa bei der Kalibrierung eines Geräts. Aber auch diese können über die Freitextmaske verändert werden – trotzdem sind es Katalogbestellungen.“

Komplexe Freigaberegelungen

„Grundsätzlich bevorzugen wir OCI-Anbindungen, Sortimentseinschränkungen je nach Bedarfsträger*innen gibt es keine.“ Lediglich für bestimmte Produktgruppen wie etwa Soft- und Hardware oder Mobiltelefone sind Sperren vorgesehen: „Da arbeiten wir mit speziellen Anbietern zusammen. Eine entsprechende Bedarfsanforderung ergeht dann immer an unser 12-köpfiges Einkaufsteam.“ Die notwendigen Informationen dazu liefert ECLASS. Welche Stellen konkret einzubeziehen sind, ergibt sich aus der Warengruppe und der Art der Beschaffung. „Bei Investitionsgütern ist z.B. immer der Einkauf beteiligt, weil hier Verhandlungen notwendig sind.“ Vergleichsangebote können die Anforder*innen, aber auch direkt einholen: „Im Bereich Chemikalien haben wir z.B. fünf Anbieter*innen gelistet.“ Bestellte Katalogartikel werden direkt durch die DIG-Plattform an SAP übergeben und eine Kopie der Bestellung im DOXiS abgelegt – sowohl im PDF- als auch im XML-Format. Ebenso werden hier Folgedokumente wie Rechnungen oder Auftragsbestätigungen gespeichert. Die Lieferantenkommunikation selbst erfolgt via EDI bzw. per Mail und PDF.

Zörnig

Hoher Nutzungsgrad

Je nach Produktgruppe wird das eProcurement unterschiedlich stark genutzt: „Beim Angebt von VWR Healthcare erreichen wir einen Nutzungsgrad von 50%, Kataloge wie RS Components liegen darüber. Insgesamt wollen wir jedenfalls 80% bei den Katalogen und 20% bei Freitextbestellungen erreichen.“ Von den 1.500 Mitarbeitern nutzen rund 700 das System: „Das ist aber insoweit irreführend, als dass viele Forscher*innen die Bestellung an ihr Büro auslagern, das eProcurement also indirekt nutzen.“ Das System selbst wurde in einer Zeit von etwa einem Jahr ab dem Kick-off entwickelt. „Der Go-Live erfolgte im Januar 2017. Rückfragen von Usern haben wir kaum, es ist alles selbsterklärend. Neben dem Ausbau des Katalogangebots arbeiten wir aktuell mit DIG an der automatisierten Verarbeitung von Lieferscheinen usw. Hier soll u.a. ein automatisierter Abgleich erfolgen.“

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH
2444 Seibersdorf | Austria
T +43 50550-2111 | M +43 664 6207771
markus.zoernig@ait.ac.at | www.ait.ac.at